UVA SCPS School Logo
Faculty Awards

SCPS Faculty Award
The Adelle F. Robertson Award is presented to recognize a faculty member who has demonstrated sustained excellence in providing new knowledge, instruction, or public service, through the School of Continuing and Professional Studies, to the people, organizations and institutions served by the University. This award recognizes commitment to excellence in continuing education and public service, which characterized the life of Dean Adelle. F. Robertson, who served as Dean of the University of Virginia Division of Continuing Education from 1978-1986. The award will be focused on excellence in teaching for the School of Continuing and Professional Studies. The award carries a $2500 stipend. 

Award Criteria 
The award may be given in areas of teaching, public service or scholarship. Nominations for the award can be made for any member of the University of Virginia Faculty (regardless of employment status) who has, through the School of Continuing and Professional Studies: 

  • Made significant contributions in the field of teaching for the School of Continuing and Professional Studies.
  • Demonstrated exceptional commitment to student learning through advising, mentoring, etc., and made significant contributions to student learning and student success outcomes (graduation, job placement,etc.)

Download full details on the award criteria, nomination process, and submission guidelines. Deadline is March 15, 2020.

UVA Faculty Awards
UVA honors excellent teaching through several awards, fellowships, and grants. Some of the awards are administered by the Provost’s Office, other awards by the Center for Teaching Excellence.

The Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost issues a call for nominations each fall. The selection committee considers nominees for all Open Awards across 9 separate categories for which they are eligible.

Visit the Provost's web site for a complete list of awards, details, and deadlines.